skip to content

Negotiating and Working Groups

Joint Negotiating Committee (JNC)

(Teams on this page updated Feb 2017.)

This is the negotiating committee with OU management that has a broad remit covering a wide range of employment related matters.

The union side members of the JNC team is as follows:

  • Pauline Collins, Branch President
  • Lesley Kane, AL - Hon. Secretary
  • Philip O'Sullivan, Regional/National Academic Staff Officer
  • Kate Servant, Vice-President
  • Flexible place: either Bruce Heil, AL or Caitlin Adams, Vice-President (please note the branch has 2 vice-presidents.)

When any of these are unavailable, other branch officers or executive committee members may stand in and we also have the facility to take an observer to the JNC meetings. The JNC minutes can be found on the OU University Committees intranet pages.

Associate Lecturer Working Group (ALWG)

This is a standing sub-committee of the JNC which deals with issues arising under current AL terms and conditions. The union side of the group consists of:
  • Judy Ekins, Branch ALs Officer
  • Bruce Heil, AL
  • Lesley Kane, Hon Secretary
  • Isabella Muzio, AL
  • Richard Bradbury, AL as an observer.
Associate Lecturer Negotiations for a new AL contract (ALNG)

The main negotiation team are:
Lydia Richards, UCU Regional Official
Bruce Heil, AL
Judy Ekins, AL
Isabella Muzio, AL

Alternates and observers: Pauline Collins and Lesley Kane.

The scope of the new contract negotiations has given rise to several subgroups of the ALNG discussing particular aspects:

ALNG Sub group 1 – Terms and Conditions
Discussing the new terms and conditions on which ALs will be employed:
Pauline Collins, Tim Parry, John Peters and Lydia Richards, UCU Regional Official

ALNG Sub group 2 – Portfolios and Duties
Discussing the allocation of work and duties under the new role:
Isabella Muzio, Lesley Kane, and Bruce Heil

ALNG Sub group 3 – Transitions
Discussing the transition to the new contract
Bruce Heil, Lydia Richards, Pauline Collins, John James, Lesley Kane and Isabella Muzio.

There have also been several smaller subgroups discussing AL scholarly activity, Communications, and issues relating to ICT.

Associate Lecturer Redundancy consultation team
Lesley Kane and Judy Ekins meet regularly with HR to discuss AL redundancies.

Recruitment, Organisation and Campaigns Committee (ROCC)
This group was established with the aim of making the branch more visible and improving our membership density, we try to invite all WH and regional/national centre reps to ROCC meetings. Current members of this group are:
  • Caitlin Adams, Vice-President
  • Kate Servant, Vice-President
  • Denzil de Souza
  • Natalie Olivadoti
  • John James, AL
  • Deb Shann, Branch Administrator